Can I cancel my own challenge?

Yes, you can cancel the challenges that you've created anytime. Open the settings of the challenge and scroll down to the End Challenge button.

This ends the challenge for everyone who is taking part, but your goal is not affected. You can set up another challenge with this goal anytime.